top of page

My 2017 Travel Goals!


2016 was a busy year for me, there's no doubt. I started with a trip to Copenhagen, went to Ireland for the first time, took the plunge and moved out to Japan again with my fiance, got my first teaching job and finished with a trip back home to England for the Christmas holidays! Phew! But now it's suddenly half way through February 2017 and I've been thinking about what to fill this year with. So I came up with a 2017 bucket list, if you will, of places I want to visit and things I want to accomplish!

THINGS I WANT TO DO:

Get outside more!

Find somewhere more permanent to live!

Explore more of Asia!

Write more!

PLACES I WANT TO GO:

South Korea

Hong Kong/ China

Okinawa

Kagoshima (for the second time!)

Mt. Fuji / Hakone

The first of my travel goals is to explore more of Asia. I may be making my way through most of Japan but apart from a holiday to Thailand, and a few hours on lay-overs, I've yet to adventure into China, South Korea and the rest of Asia properly! I'm not sure where I'd like to go yet, we've been considering a birthday getaway to Hong Kong this spring but that's as far as I've planned ! With Busan only 40 minutes away by plane and Taiwan another close neighbour there's no excuse for me not to add a few more countries to my travelling belt so fingers crossed I can pay the rest of Asia a visit :)

My second goal for this year sounds a bit pathetic, but to be honest I just want to get out more! Whether that means I'll finally climb Mt. Fuji, go exploring the forests of Yakushima or just get on my bike and enjoy the fresh air I don't know! As it stands sitting in work all day then going home and watching TV isn't doing me any good, so I'll bully myself into taking a break then and again that actually involves me going outside, enjoying nature and not staring at a screen. My eyes are square enough!

Number 3 is not exactly travel related, but this is the year that will make or break our stay in Japan and so I want to/ need to figure out what I'm doing with my life. Do I want to stay in Japan? Yes. Do I know how that's going to happen? NOT REALLY! So basically my goal is to end this year in a good place, knowing what I'm doing, not worrying about short term accommodation or visas and feeling settled. Wherever I may be. (Remind me to laugh at myself for this next year, no doubt my life will still be a mess!)

Finally I want to push myself to write more about places I've been and things I've seen. I've got about 1000 ideas bouncing around my head and I never seem to have the time or motivation to put fingers to keyboard, but I want to get it all down before the ideas fade; or I forget details of my adventures! If nothing else I'd like to be able to look back at this blog in the future as a scrapbook of my life and travels and enjoy the memories... and if other people enjoy what I write along the way, that's great too :)

becky meets world
FOLLOW ME:
  • Facebook Vintage Stamp
  • Instagram Vintage Stamp
RECENT POSTS:
Where's Becky now?
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page